Click any bullet-point to go to the relevant section of this page.

Who we are

All voting members (elected members, co-opted members and nominated group representatives) were elected or co-opted in October 2019.

NTBCC office-bearers

Office-bearers were elected at NTBCC’s AGM on 9 October 2023. Any voting member (i.e. elected member, co-opted member or nominated group representative) can be an office-bearer.
Until 9 October 2023, NTBCC also had a vicechair, but no-one stood for election to that role on that date.

Peter Williamson
chair <at> NTBCC.org.uk
Laura Graham:
secretary <at> NTBCC.org.uk
Mike Birch:
treasurer <at> NTBCC.org.uk
Engagement Officer
Simon Holledge:
engagement <at> NTBCC.org.uk

Other elected and co-opted NTBCC members

NTBCC can have 16 elected and co-opted members. We currently have four vacancies.

David Clarke
Annick Gaillard
Stephen Hajducki
Deirdre Henderson
Jack Hugh
Susan Macinnes
Carol Nimmo
Richard Price
David Renton
Alan Welsh
Annick Gaillard and David Renton were co-opted onto NTBCC on 14 June 2021.
Former members: Fran Wasoff (stood down June 2020), James Kilner (stood down December 2020), Jonathan Finn (stood down January 2021), Stuart McAllister (stood down April 2021), Susanna Beaumont (stood down July 2021), Susan Duff (stood down November 2021).

Nominated group representatives

NTBCC can have eight nominated members. We currently have two vacancies.

Drummond Civic

Ken Lochrie

Great King
Street Association

Stewart Mills

India Street

Nicholas Reid

Moray Feu Neighbourhood

Simon Baig

Picardy Residents Association

Peter Williamson

Regent, Royal and Carlton Terraces and Mews Association

Michael Birch


  • Allan Jack stood down as India St Association representative on NTBCC in October 2020. Jenni Inglis stood down as Fettes Row and Royal Crescent representative in early 2021.

Non-voting (associate and ex-officio) NTBCC members

Ex-officio members (apart from Bruce Ryan) were confirmed at the local government elections on 4 May 2017 or at the most recent Scottish and UK parliamentary elections. Click representatives’s names to access their pages on the Scottish Parliament, UK Parliament or Edinburgh Council websites.
Photos of representatives are from relevant parliament or council websites. (Photo of B Ryan by Hazel Hall.)

Minutes secretary
Bruce Ryan
Member of UK Parliament
Deidre Brock MP
Member of Scottish Parliament
Angus Robertson
Member of Scottish Parliament
Ben Macpherson MSP

City Centre ward councillors

Margaret Graham
Finlay McFarlane
Claire Miller
Joanna Mowat

Inverleith ward councillors

Jule Bandel
Max Mitchell
Vicky Nicolson
Hal Osler

Leith Walk ward councillors

Jack Caldwell
James Dalgleish
Amy McNeese-Mechan
Susan Rae

NTBCC committees

This information has been moved to NTBCC’s Committee pages.

NTBCC’s constitution

The text and a link to a scan of the original hard copy are here: http://www.ntbcc.org.uk/about/ntbcc-constitution.

The New Town and Broughton Community Council Constitution refers in many instances to a document called the Edinburgh Scheme for Community Councils (PDF) or ’the Scheme’, which explains the general operation of community councils in Edinburgh.

Where NTBCC works and what it does

New Town and Broughton Community Council is one of Edinburgh’s 44 Community Councils, established under statute, to represent the views of the community within its area, the boundaries of which are set by the Edinburgh Scheme for Community Councils. See NTBCC’s area map.

The Community Council is charged with representing the views of the local community on a wide range of issues. With our area being right at the heart of Edinburgh, there are always a large number of issues to discuss, ranging from major retail, office or residential redevelopments to the environmental effects of waste management in the city centre. In the last year we made representations on behalf of the community on a number of planning , licensing, environmental and traffic management issues, and attended several Council hearings.

New Town and Broughton Community Council meets in full session nine times a year, generally on the second Monday of each month, excepting January, April and July. These meetings are open to the public, and are attended regularly by ward Councillors and Community Police officers. Meetings are normally held at the Drummond Room, Broughton St Marys Church, Bellevue Crescent, Edinburgh – see NTBCC’s Meetings page.

The Community Council office-bearers are the Chair, Secretary, Treasurer and Engagement Officer. Office-bearers are elected annually, at an Annual General Meeting, normally held in May. The Community Council organises its work through four key committees, Planning, Transport, Environment and Licensing, all composed and convened by Community Councillors, answerable to the Community Council as a whole. Community Councillors are elected tri-annually and normally serve a term of three years. Election is open to anyone aged 16 or over resident within the Community Council’s boundaries.

Here is a video from City of Edinburgh Council’s YouTube site about The Role of Community Councils in Edinburgh: http://youtu.be/erjlWjqKS28